Querying if a Document already exists in an index

Hi,
I am new to pinecone and LLMs so excuse the basic question.

I want to add PDFs to a “knowledge base” and then be able to query these documents. So far this works pretty well, but I want to only add the documents to pinecone if they don’t already exist. I added the documents with a GUID and stored this in the metadata.

But my code always fails. with AttributeError: ‘dict’ object has no attribute ‘_composed_schemas’. Could anyone provide any hint as to what the problem might be. I understand that I have to pass a dummy vector , I cannot just pass None or just the metadata.

Thanks for the help!

def pinecone_document_exists(guid,index_name):

# initialize pinecone
    #pinecone.init(
    #    api_key=PINECONE_API_KEY,  # find at app.pinecone.io
    #    environment=PINECONE_API_ENV # next to api key in console
    #)

index = pinecone.Index(index_name)
    st.info(index)

# Query for documents with metadata value "blue"
    query = {"guid": guid}
    st.info(f"query: {query}")

# Need to pass also the vector , but this can be just the embedding dimension
    results = index.query(
        vector=[0] * 1536,
        filter=[query],
        top_k=1,
        include_metadata=True,
    )    

# Return True if the id was found, False otherwise
    if len(results) > 0:
        return True
    else:
        return False

Hi!

Can you provide the code you used for upserting the vectors? :slight_smile:

At first glance… Did you add guid to metadata so you want to filter then that way? Maybe try using fetch with the guid if you used it for id when upserting (and you know which id you are actually searching for) just to see if you get back some vectors. After that continue with the query.

Also as per documentation:

query_response = index.query(
    namespace='example-namespace',
    top_k=10,
    filter={
        'genre': {'$in': ['comedy', 'documentary', 'drama']}
    }