Embedding dimensionality

Does the embedding size influence the quality of the results?

2 Likes

It can, generally speaking the larger the embedding size the more information you can encode into your embeddings. But it doesn’t necessarily mean bigger is better. There are excellent SOTA semantic search models that embed vectors at a dimensionality of 786, and others (eg. OpenAI’s Davinci) that use 12288. Both work, and there can be an accuracy benefit for larger dimensionality, but not always. Another point to consider is that there will be a trade-off between high-accuracy (larger dims) and speed+storage (lower dims), your use-case may require that you prioritize one or the other.

1 Like

I am new to vector databases and I have to say this didn’t make much sense to me. Is there a simpler explanation I can find on how dimensionality works, and how tweaking it can get me to my desired outcomes? (high quality semantic search capabilities)

Hi @simistern, the dimensionality is usually determined by the embedding model you use. For example, OpenAI’s ada-002 model outputs embeddings with 1536 dimensions. For someone just getting started with this, there is no need — and in some cases there is no way — to change the dimensions of those embeddings.

1 Like

Hi @simistern, it might help if you think of a real-world example of using vectors to identify a point. Say you’re tracking an airplane, where you need at least four dimensions of data: latitude, longitude, altitude, and time. Using those four, you can determine the plane’s location at a given point in time.

But say your original model used hours as the atomic unit of time, and now you need more accuracy. You could refine your model to have more discrete time-tracking or add dimensions to include minutes and seconds. So now you have a vector with six dimensions, giving you more accuracy on where exactly the plane was.